Growth management is a strategic, long-range, comprehensive and integrated approach to build thriving and affordable communities across Ontario. It incorporates infrastructure planning and investment, demographic changes, economic development and employment trends, land use planning, and population health to support the government's vision of future communities.

Growth management policy can also be used to address a range of issues reflecting conditions in different regions of the province, including the need for greater population or employment growth, economic development, digital technologies and infrastructure.

Recent Updates 

May 2, 2019

A Place to Grow: Growth Plan for the Greater Golden Horseshoe

After a broad consultation on proposed policy changes, the Government of Ontario has released A Place to Grow: Growth Plan for the Greater Golden Horseshoe. A Place to Grow is an important part of More Homes, More Choice, the government's action plan that addresses the needs of the region's growing population, its diversity, its people and its local priorities.

This new plan will help manage growth so communities in the region develop in ways that expand economic opportunity, increase housing supply and protect jobs while maintaining protections for the Greenbelt, agricultural lands, the agri-food sector and cultural and natural heritage systems.

As part of A Place to Grow, the ministry has identified 29 provincially significant zones in the Greater Golden Horseshoe to protect jobs, attract investments and keep existing industries in the region.

A Place to Grow will help make it faster and easier to build housing for the growing number of people expected to live and work in this area in the next twenty years.

Click here to see A Place to Grow: Growth Plan for the Greater Golden Horseshoe.

In addition to releasing the new plan, we are seeking further feedback on the transition regulation. Please visit Ontario's Environmental Registry (Notice 019-0018) to read the draft proposal, and to submit any comments. The deadline for providing feedback is June 1, 2019.

You may also read the decision notices on four draft proposals that were posted on the Environmental Registry earlier this year (Notices 013-4504, Notices 013-4505, Notices 013-4506, Notices 013-4507), related to proposed changes to the growth plan and its transition regulation.

January 15, 2019

Proposed Changes to the Growth Plan for the Greater Golden Horseshoe, 2017

The Government of Ontario is seeking feedback on proposed changes to the Growth Plan for the Greater Golden Horseshoe, 2017 ("Growth Plan") and its transition regulation.

We have heard that planning for growth in the Greater Golden Horseshoe Region is needed. However, we have also heard that there are some issues regarding how best to implement the Growth Plan. The proposed changes build on feedback that the Ministry of Municipal Affairs and Housing heard from the business, research and development sectors, municipalities, and others during engagement sessions last fall.

The proposed changes respect the ability of local governments to make decisions about how they grow. The Province will maintain protections for the Greenbelt, agricultural lands, the agri-food sector, and natural heritage systems.

Please visit Ontario's Environmental Registry (Notice 013-4504) to read the draft proposals, and to submit any comments and suggestions. Please note that the deadline for providing feedback is February 28, 2019.

May 4, 2018

Land Needs Assessment Methodology for the Greater Golden Horseshoe

The final Land Needs Assessment Methodology for the Greater Golden Horseshoe is available for Upper- and single-tier municipalities to use when calculating the amount of land needed to accommodate forecasted growth to 2041.

The methodology is a growth management tool that provides a consistent way to make sure land is available for growth. To learn more, read the full methodology or the Summary.

April 16, 2018

Expanded Greenbelt Council

The Greenbelt Council, a government advisory body, was expanded to advise the Minister of Municipal Affairs on the Growth Plan for the Greater Golden Horseshoe and the Oak Ridges Moraine Conservation Plan, as they relate to the Greenbelt Plan. David Crombie, former Toronto mayor and former federal cabinet minister, was appointed to serve as the new chair and the council's membership was broadened to provide advice on all of the plans. For more information about the council, visit the Greenbelt Council webpage.

March 21, 2018

Draft Guidance to support municipal implementation of the Growth Plan for the Greater Golden Horseshoe released for consultation

The Ministry has released two draft technical guidance documents that support municipalities in the Greater Golden Horseshoe in their work with the Growth Plan. These documents will assist municipalities in the region to carry out their municipal comprehensive review processes, and achieve their targets.

Please visit Ontario's Environmental Registry (Notice 013-2359) to read the Draft Guidance documents, and to submit any comments and suggestions. Please note that the deadline for providing feedback has been extended to Tuesday June 19, 2018.

May 18, 2017

Release of the Growth Plan for the Greater Golden Horseshoe, 2017

The Government of Ontario has released the Growth Plan for the Greater Golden Horseshoe, 2017. Effective July 1, 2017, this plan will replace the Growth Plan for the Greater Golden Horseshoe, 2006 that initially took effect on June 16, 2006. The Growth Plan for the Greater Golden Horseshoe was reviewed as part of a co-ordinated land use planning review, alongside the Greenbelt Plan, Oak Ridges Moraine Conservation Plan, and Niagara Escarpment Plan. To learn more or to review and download the Growth Plan, please visit Ontario.ca/greatergoldenhorseshoeplans.

To learn more or to review and download the Growth Plan, please visit Ontario.ca/greatergoldenhorseshoeplans.

Follow Us

La gestion de la croissance est une approche stratégique, à long terme, complète et intégrée servant à bâtir des collectivités prospères et abordables en Ontario. Cela comprend la planification des infrastructures et des investissements, les changements démographiques, le développement économique et les tendances en matière d’emploi, l’aménagement du territoire et la santé de la population pour appuyer la vision du gouvernement par rapport aux collectivités futures.

La politique de gestion de la croissance peut également être utilisée pour aborder une gamme de problèmes reflétant les conditions existant dans différentes régions de la province, y compris le besoin d’une plus grande croissance de la population ou de l’emploi, le développement économique, les technologies numériques et les infrastructures.

Mises à jour récentes

Le 2 mai 2019

En plein essor : Plan de croissance de la région élargie du Golden Horseshoe

Après une vaste consultation sur les changements proposés aux politiques, le gouvernement de l’Ontario a publié En plein essor : Plan de croissance de la région élargie du Golden Horseshoe. Ce document est un volet important du plan d’action gouvernemental Plus d’habitations, plus de choix, qui vise à répondre aux besoins associés à la croissance démographique, à la diversité, à la population et aux priorités de la région élargie.

Ce nouveau plan contribuera à la gestion de la croissance pour que les collectivités de la région se développent de manière à accroître les débouchés économiques, à augmenter l’offre de logements et à protéger les emplois tout en continuant à protéger la ceinture de verdure, les terres agricoles, le secteur agroalimentaire et les systèmes du patrimoine naturel et culturel.

Dans le cadre du document En plein essor, le ministère a désigné 29 zones d’importance provinciale dans la région élargie du Golden Horseshoe afin de protéger les emplois, d'attirer les investissements et de maintenir les industries existantes dans la région.

En plein essor facilitera et accélérera la construction de logements pour loger le nombre grandissant de personnes qui devraient s’établir et travailler dans cette région au cours des vingt prochaines années.

Cliquez ici pour consulter le document En plein essor : Plan de croissance de la région élargie du Golden Horseshoe.

À venir

En plus de publier le nouveau plan, le gouvernement souhaite obtenir d’autres commentaires sur le Règlement de l’Ontario 311/06 (Questions transitoires – Plan de croissance). Consultez le Registre environnemental de l’Ontario (avis 019-0018) pour lire le projet de propositions et donner votre avis d’ici le 1er juin 2019.

Vous pouvez aussi lire les avis de décision des quatre projets de propositions publiés dans le Registre environnemental plus tôt cette année (avis 013-4504, 013-4505, 013-4506, et 013-4507)concernant les changements proposés au Plan de croissance et au Règlement de l’Ontario 311/06.

Le 15 janvier 2019

Changements proposés au Plan de croissance de la région élargie du Golden Horseshoe, 2017

Le Gouvernement de l’Ontario veut obtenir votre avis sur les changements proposés au Plan de croissance de la région élargie du Golden Horseshoe, 2017 (le « Plan de croissance ») et sa réglementation de transition.

Nous avons été informés qu’une planification de la croissance était nécessaire pour la région élargie du Golden Horseshoe. Cependant, nous avons également été avisés de certains enjeux concernant la façon la plus appropriée de mettre le Plan de croissance en œuvre. Les changements proposés sont fondés sur les commentaires reçus par le ministère des Affaires municipales et du Logement de la part des secteurs des affaires, de la recherche et du développement, des municipalités et des autres intervenants lors des séances de mobilisation de l’automne dernier.

Les changements proposés respectent la capacité des administrations locales de prendre des décisions sur la façon d’assurer leur croissance. Le gouvernement provincial assurera le maintien de la protection de la ceinture de verdure, des terres agricoles, du secteur agroalimentaire et du patrimoine naturel.

Veuillez consulter le Registre environnemental de l’Ontario (Avis 013-4504) pour voir les propositions provisoires et soumettre vos commentaires et suggestions. Veuillez noter que vous avez jusqu’au 28 février 2019 pour soumettre vos commentaires.

Le 4 mai 2018

Méthode d’évaluation des besoins en terrains pour la région élargie du Golden Horseshoe

Les municipalités de palier supérieur ou à palier unique pourront utiliser cette méthode afin de calculer la quantité de terrains nécessaire pour faire face à la croissance prévue jusqu’à 2041.

Cette méthode est un outil de gestion de la croissance qui offre un moyen cohérent de s’assurer que des terrains sont disponibles pour la croissance. Pour en apprendre davantage, veuillez lire la méthode complète ou le Résumé.

Le 16 avril 2018

Élargissement du Conseil de la ceinture de verdure

Le Conseil de la ceinture de verdure, un organisme consultatif du gouvernement, a été élargi afin de conseiller le ministre des Affaires municipales sur le Plan de croissance de la région élargie du Golden Horseshoe et le Plan de conservation de la moraine d’Oak Ridges dans le contexte du Plan de la ceinture de verdure. David Crombie, ancien maire de Toronto et ancien député fédéral, a été nommé président du Conseil, dont la composition a été élargie afin qu’il puisse donner des conseils sur tous les plans. Pour en savoir davantage sur le Conseil, visiter la page Web du Conseil de la ceinture de verdure..

Le 21 mars 2018 8

Publication du document d’orientations provisoires visant à appuyer la mise en œuvre du Plan de croissance de la région élargie du Golden Horseshoe – à des fins de consultation

Le Ministre a rendu publics deux documents d’orientations techniques provisoires qui aideront les municipalités de la région élargie du Golden Horseshoe à mettre en œuvre le Plan de croissance. Ces documents aideront les municipalités de la région à mener le processus d’examen municipal complet et à atteindre leurs objectifs.

Veuillez visiter le Registre environnemental de l’Ontario (Avis 013-2359) pour lire les documents d’orientations provisoires et soumettre toute observation ou suggestion. Veuillez prendre note que la date limite de présentation des observations a été repoussée au mardi 19 juin 2018.

Le 18 mai 2017

Publication du Plan de croissance de la région élargie du Golden Horseshoe, 2017

Le gouvernement de l’Ontario a rendu public le Plan de croissance de la région élargie du Golden Horseshoe, 2017. Entré en vigueur le 1er juillet 2017, ce plan remplace le Plan de croissance de la région élargie du Golden Horseshoe de 2006 qui était entré en vigueur le 16 juin 2006 Le Plan de croissance de la région élargie du Golden Horseshoe a été passé en revue dans le cadre d’un examen coordonné des plans d’aménagement du territoire, en même temps que le Plan de la ceinture de verdure, le Plan de conservation de la moraine d’Oak Ridges et le Plan d’aménagement de l’escarpement du Niagara. Pour en savoir plus ou pour consulter et télécharger le Plan de croissance, veuillez visiter Ontario.ca/greatergoldenhorseshoeplans.

Suivez-nous